Home Music News Diplo, Calvin Harris Nominated at First-Ever Electronic Music Awards

Diplo, Calvin Harris Nominated at First-Ever Electronic Music Awards


Just when we thought we needed time to recover from the Grammy Awards, the first-ever Electronic Music Awards showed up- with the top nominees being Diplo and Calvin Harris who got two nods each.

Carl Cox, Diplo, and Skrillex were among the artists who earned nods for DJ of the Year, while Calvin Harris, Major Lazer & DJ Snake and The Chainsmokers made the shortlist for Single of the Year. Festival of the Year nominations went to Creamfields, Electric Daisy, Ultra Music, Sonar and The BPM Festival.

These inaugural awards are set to take place on April 14 at the SLS Hotel in Los Angeles and air on Saturday April 23rd on Fox.

For such a powerful music genre, it’s surprising that these awards never cropped up a couple of years back…when most mainstream urban and pop artists jumped into the electronic boat and kept our heads bopping.

Co-founded by DJ & producer Paul Oakenfeld and the show will be produced by TV4’s Paul Duddridge.

And as we all know, no award show is complete without some red carpet glamour, live peformances and interviews!

The full list of nominees

Single of the Year

Calvin Harris & Disciples – How Deep is Your Love

The Chainsmokers – Roses (feat. ROZES)

Galantis – Runaway (U & I)

Kygo – Stole the Show (feat. Parson James)

Major Lazer & DJ Snake – Lean On (feat. MØ)

Album of the Year

AlinaBaraz & Galimatias – Urban Flora

Calvin Harris – Motion

Disclosure – Caracal

Galantis – Pharmacy

Jamie xx – In Colour

Radio Show of the Year

BBC Radio 1 Essential Mix

BPM with Geronimo – Sirius XM

Danny Howard – BBC Radio 1’s Dance Anthems

Diplo and Friends – BBC Radio 1Xtra

Jason Bentley – Morning Becomes Eclectic – KCRW

Festival of the Year

Creamfields – Daresbury, England

Electric Daisy Carnival – Las Vegas, USA

Sonar – Barcelona, Spain

The BPM Festival – Playa del Carmen, Mexico

Ultra Music Festival – Miami, USA

DJ of the Year

Carl Cox



DJ Harvey


Best New Artist

Bob Moses

DJ Snake




Best Club of the Year




Sound LA


Read original article here…



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here